Independence Dates of Latin American Countries

Spanish-speaking countries celebrate independence dates throughout the year, but many hold their freedom day celebrations in the middle of September. National Hispanic Heritage Month in the USA. This is one of the reasons why National Hispanic Heritage Month is celebrated from September 15 through October 15 each year in the United States.

Contrary to what many people believe, Cinco de Mayo is NOT Mexican independence day! Also, some countries’ independence day celebrations span days, or even a full week, of festivities including traditional food, music, and dance.

For those living far from their homecountries, it’s important to still celebrate their freedom days. Check out the dates below to know when (and maybe join!) your Latino/Hispanic friends in celebrating their días de la independencia.

Hispanic Countries Independence Days

ArgentinaJuly 9
BoliviaAugust 6
ChileSeptember 18
ColombiaJuly 20
Costa RicaSeptember 15
CubaMay 20
Dominican RepublicFebruary 27
EcuadorMay 24 (August 10 first independence uprising)
El SalvadorSeptember 15
GuatemalaSeptember 15
HondurasSeptember 15
MexicoSeptember 16
NicaraguaSeptember 15
PanamaNovember 3
ParaguayMay 14
PeruJuly 28
Puerto Rico(1897 from Spain) Unincorporated U.S. territory since 1917
UruguayAugust 25
VenezuelaJuly 5

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.